The Spin We're In


Release Date: December 4, 2015

Swedish supergroup Astropol release their new album The Spin We're in on December 4, 2015. Astropol is made up of Bjorn from Peter, Bjorn and John, Bebban from the Shout Out Louds, and SMASH. This album is female fronted indie pop at its finest. 
Opening track "Make Love Stay" is an upbeat track that is driven by a beat that recalls distant memories of 90's rave groups like Happy Mondays. The refrain from the chorus, "you can make love leave, but you can't make love stay", sets the tone for the general mood of the album. The album's first single, "The Sound of a Heart That Breaks", is a pop song drenched in melancholy. This song is very reminiscent of Britpop in the vein of Keane and Coldplay's A Rush of Blood to the Head.
The album's lyrical content deals mostly with heartbreak and romance. It won't take more than a simple reading of the track titles to get an idea of what the album will be like. The songs seem to bounce between depressed breakup songs and hopeful romance songs about a couple who couldn't possibly be more in love. The melancholy can get a little heavy as the music starts to drone on. Fortunately, the album picks up with tracks like "The Shelter of my Love", which features a catchy chorus driven home by slightly distorted vocals, resounding drums and a tambourine played as part of the rhythm. "Little Cloud" is another track driven by a dancy drumbeat.
Between the dancy songs, there are plenty of sad love songs that give this album an aspect of variety. Astropol have mastered both of these approaches due in large part to the extensive experience each member brings to the group. This album is rich, and while the songwriting could be described as subtle and lacks a certain vibrancy, it is both peaceful and captivating.
Reviewed by James 1340

Add comment

Security code

This site designed and maintained by Burning Point Media.

Copyright © 2015. All Rights Reserved.